Past Events

Monday, September 19, 2016 6:00PM

Angela Lorenz public lecture, “Women Athletes as Family Status Symbol: Goals for Daughters in the Roman Empire,”


Wednesday, September 7, 2016 4:00-5:30PM

Please join us at the inaugeral event at our new home in Levering Hall on the East Range near the historic Lawn. 


Friday, August 26, 2016 5:30-7:00 PM
Friday, August 26, 2016 through September 26, 2016

Final Fridays Reception, August 26, 2016 5:30-7:30 PM

Women Athletes as Family Status Symbol: Goals for Daughters in the Roman Empire


Saturday, May 21, 2016 12:30 PM

All WGS Majors and Minors who have graduated between Summer 2015 and Spring 2016 are invited to walk in the diploma ceremony.


Wednesday, May 4, 2016 12:00 noon

"The Carceral Life of Gender: Black Women, Punishment, and the Politics of Blues Sabotage.”, Sarah Haley, Assistant Professor of Gender Studies, UC


Wednesday, April 20, 2016 3:30 PM

Evelyn Alsultany, Associate Professor of American Culture and Director of Arab and Muslim American Studies at the University of Michigan, will be v


Thursday, March 24, 2016 4:30PM

Seminar with Professor Corinne Field on "Feminist Generations: Age, Equality, and Political Engagement," which is rooted in discussion about the re


Friday, March 18, 2016 12:00 noon

Doug Meyer, University of Virginia and Susan Benton, Vickie Spray and Jeff Mann


Thursday, March 17, 2016 12:00 noon

Corinne Field, University of Virginia with Farah Griffin and Diane Savage


Wednesday, March 2, 2016 3:30 PM

Come enjoy refreshments and socialize with current and future WGS students.  Sponsored by the College Council.


Wednesday, February 24, 2016 3:30 PM

Women today are expected to be everything!


Saturday, February 13, 2016 8:00 PM

Presented with support from the University of Virginia Arts Council; The Office of the Provost and Vice Provost for the Arts; Women, Gender


Thursday, February 11, 2016 3:30 PM

In the last three decades of the twentieth century, LGBT Latinas/os faced several forms of discrimination.


Friday, January 29, 2016 3:30 PM

Why do we have binary sex markers on our birth certificates, driver's licenses and passports? Is this administrative custom necessary?


Thursday, December 3, 2015 3:30 - 5:00 PM Reception to follow

Martha Albertson Fineman, Emory University,  is an internationally recognized law and society scholar, Fineman is a leading authority on family law


Wednesday, December 2, 2015 5:00- 6:15 PM

WGS Lecturer Amanda Davis has been invited (again) to give a lecture as part of the Unforgettable Lecture Series: Best of UVA.  Dont miss it!


Pages